first shots

I took Aidan to the doctor today to get his first shots.  I had to hold his legs down and I felt awful, like Cruella DeVille or something. The wicked witch.

He had been smiling at me and Dr. Kelly, even looked like he waved at Dr. Kelly once. He was so happy and then bam!! 4 needles in his legs. He started wailing and it brought a tear to my eye. I held him immediately after the nurse was done.

It took about 15 minutes to calm him down…really only when we changed scenery did he. He stared at the receptionist and was OK after that. I fed him before we left and he slept the ride to Wal-Mart and while I shopped. He’s now sleeping on the couch…in his car seat, of course.

I feel like a meanie. I’m so not looking forward to doing it again at 4 months and 6 months.

2 thoughts on “first shots

  1. aww! but it’s for the best. i don’t see how women can take their little ones to get their ears pierced… i’d feel so bad!! along the same lines…

  2. I know, I don’t either. That’s something I’d leave for my child to decide if they want to do or not. I’d feel sadistic, making them go through that for my own pleasure because you know babies don’t “enjoy” their earrings.

Leave a Reply

