Mommies aren’t perfect. There’s no manual for motherhood.

Over the past few nights Aidan has woke up during the night – usually around 3 am – my guess is because he’s in pain from teething again. That, or because he’s not eating enough and not staying full through the night. He also had bad gas yesterday. Fart here. Fart there. Fart everywhere!

Well, I had gotten accustomed to sleeping through the night again. Suddenly I am awoken to have to tend to him. Not that I mind that at all, it’s just that it seems like forever to get him back to sleep. Really it isn’t, but because I’m not used to waking up again, I’m tired as hell when I do.

Last night I laid down to go to bed around midnight. Shortly after – like 15 minutes – just when I was getting comfy and asleep, he wakes up. I was very frustrated and shaky (you know when something startles you awake?).

Then he woke up again at like 4 am. Double whammy!! Man, was I tired. I was stumbling trying to get to the kitchen to make him some food and stuff. I was aggravated – not at Aidan – but at myself because it was like I couldn’t figure out what was wrong and fix it. And I didn’t want to ask Mike for help because he has to work; I don’t. I never want to bother him because he works long, rough hours. I don’t want to put my job off on him because I’m tired.

But….sometimes I’ll need help. Motherhood can be very exhausting and demanding, especially when your child is ill. Children get ill when teething. It’s painful and can cause fever, coughing, etc. I’m very fortunate that he’s never been sick from a virus or anything horrible like that.

Tylenol takes care of what we’ve gone through.

Back to my night. So I fed Aidan a bowl of rice and a bottle!! In the middle of the night. He slept until about 7:15am-ish when  put him in bed with me. Then we slept until 9am. There’s nothing better than cuddling with my child. Not even sex!!

This morning, Mike and I talked about last night and I broke down. I have a hard time asking for help with things…especially when I know how to do them.

There’s no manual on motherhood, so what you may do one day, may not work the next. Clearly I must change his eating habits and increase his intake.

He poops so much, too. I promise I change his diaper every hour and when he poops, immediately, but he’s still getting diaper rashes regularly. This is his first one in a couple of weeks or so. I think it’s the sweet potatoes that make him poop. It turns his butt red and it smells differently which signifies a chemical change which is what is burning his butt.

Poor baby. He cries when I try to clean him. I plan to just wash him when he poops.

Look at my rocking baby in his Misfits onesie and motorcycle boots!!

aidan04.jpg

4 thoughts on “Mommies aren’t perfect. There’s no manual for motherhood.

  1. I remember when Jaime was little, his diaper rash was horrible! Only thing that ever seemed to help was him wearing cloth diapers alone-none of the little plastic pants over them either. We all got peed and pooped on, but his diaper rash improved TREMENDOUSLY! Not to mention my mom saved a ton on diapers, not having to buy disposables.

    Listen to me, I don’t even have any kids! ha

Leave a Reply

