2nd grader suspended???

I have an RSS feed from MSNBC on my desktop and noticed a title that stunned me.

A second grade kid was suspended from school for drawing a stick figure shooting a gun. Now why did they feel the need to suspend him?? I just wonder if they attempted to have the guidance counselor talk to him about this, or if they jumped the gun (no pun intended).

A second grader is usually about 7 or 8 years old. It can be disturbing that your 7 year old is drawing something like that, but suspending him for it is not going to be very effective. In fact, isn’t this a way of sweeping it under the rug.

I believe that our schools are just so quick to punish and ignore rather than acknowledge and understand.

There’s nothing wrong with being proactive, but I think they should have responded differently. I think the guidance counselor should have talked with the kid, then sent the kid home to talk to the parents about it…maybe even scheduled a parent conference within a few days about what kind of follow up plan will be set in place (i.e. close supervision, etc).

I know a lot of kids problems start at home – actually, I think it ALL starts at home. In our society today, things have advanced and only gotten worse for our kids as far as what they feel they need to be like to be accepted. Do I have an iPod? DoI have a cell phone? Am I on myspace? Do I wear bootcut, skinny jeans or highwaters? Are my pants low enough? Am I tough enough? Blah, blah, blah.

I know we all dealt with the same things when we were younger, but I think to a lesser degree. Kids nowadays have gotten more involved in things they shouldn’t be involved in, therefore they use this as ammo against others as to whether or not they’re cool. I didn’t have a cell phone until I was 18. I didn’t get my first computer until I was 18. I never thought about gangs when I was a kid. I still don’t have an iPod.

I guess if I was a kid now, I’d be perceived as the poorest, dorkiest kid for not fitting in.

It does all start at home in teaching your kids morals and values and also earning their respect and giving them the love they need and certainly deserve. If you have this, then you are doing great!! You always add a little more to the recipe of a good kid. There’s no perfect child; you must accept that they’ll do wrong, but it should not outweigh the good. When they steer wrong, then you help them out, don’t lash out.

I think this school lashed out. Shame on them.

9 thoughts on “2nd grader suspended???

  1. Pingback: Ghillie Suits » 2nd grader suspended???

  2. I agree with you 100%. What happened to Communicating with the child? Instead we send an 8 year old packing and made to feel as if he is a criminal. Often times children will turn out exactly how we treat them. Show love and concern, and at very least give the benefit of the doubt!

  3. Seems like most parents these days are just too lazy to try and teach their children morals, manners,values, responsibility…why pay attention to them when you can sit them in front of a tv, a video game, a computer? Yeah, when we were growing up, things were different, but these days all things are to an extreme. I know people with 4 kids who are in debt to their eyeballs and struggling w/ 2 mortgages (she HAD to live in THE neighborhood so they rented out their other house), car payments (brand new cars every few years), etc., but yet all the kids wear nothing but Hollister, Abercrombie, etc…they all have cell phones-even the 12 year old, Ipods, nice digital cameras,their own laptops…

    Now, maybe something is wrong with me, but that’s just fucked up! You can barely pay your bills and buy groceries, but you’re obviously racking up more and more credit card debt with the weekly trips to the mall. Why haven’t these people kept their spending in check? You don’t have to spoil your kids with all these material things and it really is THAT SIMPLE. Of course, these adults that know nothing about budgeting or spending money wisely aren’t exactly good examples for their kids.

    Sorry, ventured a little further there than I planned on, but I just don’t understand the majority of people these days. I need to start ranting on my own page huh??? haha

  4. Hey, I love the comments!! I’m so getting ready to blog about what you just commented!!

    I have another book recommendation in it as well!

  5. I understand where you’re coming from. My niece got a laptop for Christmas when she was about to turn 8 years old. Got her first cell phone (the verizon kid version) around the same time. My youngest sister started high school at Baylor this year, and she has turned into a monster when it comes to spending money. It’s like being around all of those kids has made her think that it’s just not a big deal. She tried to call my parents this morning to come pick her up from school because she claimed that she was sick. Mom and Jeff refused to leave work and drive all that way to pick her up. They knew she wasn’t sick; she had stayed up too late last night on the computer and talking on her phone. She then called her grandmother with the same story trying to get to leave school. When she finally came home after school at the normal time, I called to check on her. Mom said, “she’s perfectly fine. Just sleepy.” I couldn’t believe it…

  6. Oh yeah…..update on this post:

    The kid was a 7 year old and he says that the picture was a drawing of a stick figure shooting a water gun.

Leave a Reply

