Today I was the minority.

What a hectic day!!! Ahhh!

I just got home about 45 minutes ago. This is the first time I’ve gotten online.

I had to get the Mowery’s photos sorted out since they ordered for 3 families. That took a little while. Then I prepared to take Aidan to get his shots. 😐

I made the appointment at the Health Department because I discovered that they only charge $13.75 for all of his shots. If I went to his doctor, I would have had to pay a $30 copay (I believe).

We had to wait in the lobby for a while. At first, he was checking out all the kids and calm. Then he got comfortable and started jumping in my lap and talking up a storm. I felt guilty because I knew he was getting ready to be in pain and he didn’t.

While in the lobby, the majority of people were Mexicans. There were 3 white people including myself and 6 Mexican people (all with about 15 kids running around). I felt disgusted the whole time I was there because it just felt nasty in there. The windows were grimey and so were the floors. The chairs looked tattered and worn. Aidan’s pediatrician has a well building and a sick building. I LOVE that!!

Anyhoo.

Once we made it back to the office, she was preparing the needles and Aidan was looking at her like he knew what was coming. Poor baby had to get poked 5 times!! (I got the flu shot for him as well). He cried so hard that he saped and turned blood red. I started crying and kissing him on the head. As soon as she was done, I started to turn him around and cuddle. He turned himself around and held his arms up. As soon as I held him close, he stopped crying. Aww. 🙂

Then I told him, “She’s the mean person, not momma.” lol

She thought it was funny, too.

She told me that he’d be caught up in 6 months. Now I just hope that the pediatrician doesn’t recommend that we wait until then to have his surgery. The urologist doesn’t like to do it after they’re a year old. They can, they just prefer not to.

Guess I’ll call Aidan’s doctor next week and find out.

Since Aidan is too young for ice cream, I bought him a toy. He chose a xylophone!!

2 thoughts on “Today I was the minority.

  1. My last visit to the Health dept. in Bradley Co., I was one of the few white people in there too. Except that was around 1995 before the hispanic population in Cleveland exploded. Back then it was usually white girls with their mixed kids or black girls with 3-4 kids in tow.
    Yeah, its dumpy, but for vaccinations anyway, you get the same thing for next to nothing rather than shelling out a ton of cash at the regular doctor. It’s where I got my bc as a teenager too for FREE.
    Hopefully Aidan’s feeling better-Tiff’s little boy Zaiden was always a wreck for a day or two after his shots.

Leave a Reply

