Aidan’s diet

For a short while, I tried to find a smaple of a daily menu for a baby who’s moving towards eating more solid foods. Aidan was to the point that he was eating a ridculous amount of jar food per week (somewhere around 30+) and was still hungry. I knew it was time to start incorporating more fulfilling foods, but I had no idea what!!

I failed at finding anything, but verybestbaby.com never lets me down. Their brochure/packet that I receive regularly in the mail always seems to have perfect timing when it arrives in my mailbox.

When they sent me that last one about a month or so ago, it had a menu and suggestions on what to feed.

First, it mentioned how I need to upgrade his formula from the Nestle Good Start DHA & ARA

to the Nestle Good Start 2 DHA & ARA:

It is cheaper than the previous by about $4 and provides extra iron and calcium my baby needs at his age. They need 9 times the average adult male at 9 months!!!

Next, they gave me a menu of what I should be serving him and mine was skimpy compared to this one.

It looks something like this:

Breakfast: 1/4-1/2 cup of cereal

1/4-1/2 cup of diced fruit

4-6 ozs. formula or breastmilk

Snack: 1/4 cup of apple juice (diluted with water 1:1)

1/4 cup diced cheese or cooked vegetables

Lunch: 1/4-1/2 cup yogurt or cottage cheese

1/4-1/2 cup cooked vegetables

4-6 ozs. breastmilk of formula

Snack: 1/4 cup 100% apple juice (diluted)

1/4 cup diced cheese or meat

1 cracker

Dinner: 1/4 cup diced poultry, meat or tofu

1/4-1/2 cup cooked vegetables

1/4-1/2 cup noodles, rice, pasta or potato

1/4 cup diced fruit

4-6 ozs. formula or breastmilk

Before bedtime: 6-8 ozs. breastmilk, formula or water (If formula or breastmilk, follow with water or wash teeth with damp cloth)

 

This list was created by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

6 thoughts on “Aidan’s diet

  1. Thank goodness they’re finally pushing 1:1 juice instead of straight juice! You don’t want their little teeth to rot as soon as they get them in!

    One of Zaiden’s favorites at around a year were mashed potatoes-I had to fix them at least a few times a week for him. He was in to oatmeal too-he refused to eat ANY baby cereal.

  2. Yeah, I’ve always done that with his juice, as per my sister’s advice.

    Aidan tried mashed potatoes, but wasn’t crazy about them. He does love oatmeal, though!! That’s the cereal I give him in the mornings for breakfast.

  3. Never known a kid that didn’t like mashed potatoes!!! Zaiden likes mac n cheese too-especially homemade. It was hilarious watching him w/ the noodles!

  4. I bet!! We’ve only given him the mac n cheese in the baby jar. He didn’t like those, but they were gross to me, too.

    He may come around with the mashed potatoes!! I’m going to try them again as soon as I find out that he’s not allergic to the new foods I’ve been giving him.

  5. ugh…baby mac n cheese! No wonder he didn’t like it!

    The baby peach cobbler is good-I used to eat Jaime’s when he was a baby. lol

Leave a Reply

