W.I.C and doodoo.

Phew.

Well, we have some relief now. I had an appointment this morning – bright and early: 7:45am – at the Health Department for W.I.C. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s assistance for those with low incomes to be able to nourish their children. You can get on it even while you are pregnant and up until the child is 5 years old. Such a very nice program. We are now qualified as low income considering mine is the only one and it’s below the $31,000 max.

I was suprised at how easy it was…and how easy it can be to take advantage of. She didn’t ask about why mine was the only income, just if it was. OK. I got my vouchers for the next 3 months. What was nice was that they went ahead and gave me one for February, even though the end of the month is 3 days away.

I was able to buy 2 gallons of milk, a 16 oz block of cheese, 12 eggs, 2 bottles of juice and a big box of cereal. It was $22 worth of stuff!! As the lady at Wal-Mart was ringing my stuff up, I started getting teary-eyed. I’ve never had to ask for help like this. I’m not ashamed, I’m just really thankful that there’s such a program that I could use when I need it.  Hopefully things will improve for Mike and I financially over the next few months and we won’t need it, but it’s great to know that I have other avenues.  I never wanted to hurt for money once I had a family, but things have come as surprises for us lately. We deal with them the best way we know how.

I came home from work yesterday (rather late) and discovered that my husband has taught our son where to point for poopoo. He doesn’t do it correctly, but he responds nonetheless when my hubby is repeating himself: “Poopoo. Poopoo” and pointing at his butt. Aidan points at his side.

See, we’ve been teaching him word association and labels. He knows what a nose is, lips, a belly and some other things. We’ve tried to teach him what colors are. Now Mike is teaching him bodily functions!! Lovely!

Aidan knows what a kiss is and does so on command, as well as head butt, rub noses, give 5 and hug. There are many other things he has learned that just amazes me. He knows his food and reacts accordingly. He comes running when we have bananas and cheese. He loves his juice, too!

Everyday is a joy now.

Leave a Reply

