Aidan’s Surgery (repost)

We got back home a short while ago from Aidan’s surgery in Knoxville. It went very well and I am pleased with how it looks now.

We spent the night at my mother’s house and got up at 6am so we could be at the hospital by 6:30. We arrived and things went quicker than they did last time. We had him up in his room in about 10 minutes. we waited around up there for about an hour. They gave him his happy juice and I took some pictures – and a video. He was giggling and behving in a drunken manner and it was all too cute.

We wheeled him upstairs before his surgery and waited for about 45 minutes or so until his doctor came and spoke with us. He told us how it went and what kind of care to do afterwards. We felt confident after this.

We had to wait for him to keep down some apple juice before leaving. Mike and I switched out on holding him. He woke once and was very fussy and his nurse gave him his medicine. He was fine within minutes. He finally woke up and was in a relatively good mood considering and he drank his juice. We left shortly afterwards and headed home.

By the time we got home, it was a little past time for his medicine, but we had to get his prescription filled first. She said it would be about 45 minutes. Oh no!

About 15-20 minutes later, Aidan was fussing and screaming in the middle of Walmart and people were approaching us and asking if he was OK. Most thought he was just tired. I think he just didn’t want to be around a bunch of people in a brightly lit facility. We went back to the pharmacy and asked if she could put a rush on his medicine and she got it right then. I was SOOO thankful! We gave him his medicine before leaving.

10 minutes or so after we got home, he was out again. He has now been out for about 1.5 hours.

While at walmart, I changed his diaper and saw the stitches for the first time. Aside from the swelling and bruising, it looks awesome and put together well. The doctor thinks this will be it.

I sure hope so.

Besides this eventful day, my mother had a surprise for us. She had bought me the dried grass vase from the Jennifer Farrell collection at Big Lots!!!! And it looks great with my tropical leaves in it! I’ll post pics, of course. She also gave me a book on coastal living and a jacket, all for my early b-day gift. She got Mike a card and was going to get him a magazine for his b-day, but they didn’t have the one he spyed at her house. Aidan was spoiled with some new clothes, too!!

Thanks Ganny! ❤

2 thoughts on “Aidan’s Surgery (repost)

  1. how scary… I honestly don’t know how I would deal with this. Surgery on my baby. 😦 … you both must be really strong… Aiden too that cute little thing. :-). Seeing his pictures makes me want to see my Andres like that already…but I know that once he’s like that and growing more I’ll want him back to 7months. Haha.

  2. Oh yeah…I still wish I could know what it’s like to hold Aidan at 7 months – or even 3 months old – again!!! He was SOO small compared to now, but I love every minute of time with him. His hands are still small and adorable. I love playing with his little fingers!

Leave a Reply

