Quit hittin’ yourself! Quit hittin’ yourself!

I know I don’t start out this blog on a serious note when my title is a quote from a Jim Carrey movie (I think one of the Ace Ventura’s), but this is serious.

My son has recently started hitting himself in the head. He will slap his whole hand, palm down on his eye or the top of his head whenever we redirect him or tell him no. There have been sometimes where he has poked himself rather hard on his head. Tonight as Mike was trying to get him to lay down on the couch, he started banging his head against the arm of the couch (which is not too soft). I know this may be part of his terrible two tantrums, but I don’t want him to think that this is the way to deal with his frustration or stress.

I guess all we can do is stop banging our heads against the wall so he knows it isn’t OK. After all, most of what kids learn comes from home, right? Although he did watch a 3 or 4 year old lay in the middle of Walmart and pitch a fit the other day.

He is currently laying in his daddy’s arms playing with Mike’s hair. THAT…is his solace. A healthy one, anyways.

Leave a Reply

