Aidan and Sadie’s play date

Today we went to visit Sorayah, Sadie and Emmaline. We had a great time catching up and watching the kids play with nearly every toy Sadie owns!! lol And come to think of it now, we should have helped pick them up before we left. Sorayah, you have to forgive me as I’m new to the whole playdate thing. Sadie and one other little boy are the only two near his age that he has ever played with.

So the whole time we were there I really felt worried about whether Aidan would try to hit Sadie or just be aggressive with her. He isn’t normally a violent child or anything, it’s just that he doesn’t interact with any kids his age. I know we need to subject him to more toddlers for the sake of socialization skills, but we just don’t have any friends close who have toddlers. And I’m always worried about other kids at the park being snotty or …aggressive… with him. I know that he is a kid – and a boy at that – and they are in the learning process, but I just don’t want him to be one of those bullies or mean kids that doesn’t like to share. So I was on edge worrying if he was going to try and do something not so nice. And there were a couple of times that he wasn’t so nice. I think it’s because when he has a toy he is attatched to, he doesn’t want to detach from it for no reason. And if you try to get him to give it up, he pitches a fit. Also, if it’s a toy he is really enjoying, he wants to play with it until he decides he’s over it.

Now I know that boys are generally less sensitive and more physical during playtime and I try to keep that in mind, but it just sucks when your kid smacks another kid younger than him. And a girl at that. I really do need to expose him to more kids his age. I wish we could afford daycare or a babysitter with other kids.

Overall he behaved really well. He actually did share his “on touch with” toy with Sadie as I saw him give it to her once. πŸ™‚ It was a new environment with new toys and he explored every bit of it. It really didn’t take him long to warm up and Sadie was the perfect host. She let Aidan play with any toy he wanted and from what Sorayah says, this is not something she is likely to do.

What was great was the two times Aidan said a couple of words I’ve never really heard him say, much less lable something with. He picked up Sadie’s palstic eggplant and started to hand it to Sorayah and said, “puwple.” I was astonished along with Sorayah. Then later on he was pointing at something on a toy and said, “bue.” He was saying blue. I am very impressed. Too bad he won’t let mama in on his knowledge while at home.

And something I was also impressed with were some of the toys Sadie had. She had some cute wooden toys from Target that would velcro together and kids could pretend to cut them apart. She had loaves of bread, eggs and Aidan’s favorite: the pizza! I decided since he liked them so much, we stopped on the way home and bought him some even though they were in the girl aisle. They just didn’t have the pizza at all. 😦 The only bad thing is that they are a little pricey, but worth it since they are wood and really good quality. Plus, he loves them so how can you argue with that??

I hope that the next time I can learn to relax and just let kids be kids. Now that Sorayah is closer, we will have more opportunities!

Here are some photos from the day:

The three of us.

The three of us.

They both wanted to eat the plastic hotdogs!

They both wanted to eat the plastic hotdogs!

Sadie and I.

Sadie and I.

Sweet bebes!

Sweet bebes!

2 thoughts on “Aidan and Sadie’s play date

  1. I was very happy too at how well behaved everyone was. I was so proud of Sadie! We definitely need to do it more often. I know it is a drive for either of us, but we could take turns hosting.

Leave a Reply

